

Stonehouse History Group Minutes of the Annual General Meeting May 10th 2023 7.30 pm at Park Junior School



Documents for the AGM had been sent to all members on our mailing list. It is also available on our website www.stonehousehistorygroup.org.uk

The secretary welcomed all to the meeting, which was attended by 44 members and 2 non-members.

Reports

The **Minutes of the AGM, 11th May 2022** had been sent to all and there were no amendments. The **Annual Report 2022/23** was presented.

The **Treasurer's Report 2022/23** was presented along with the **Accounts Balance Sheet 2022/23** (checked by Simon Lewis). Roy Edwards asked what the outstanding liabilities were. At the time of the Accounts they consisted of 3 months hire of the school hall (now paid) and the money collected for tickets for the Chavenage trip, which will be paid to the venue in due course

The meeting voted unanimously to accept the Annual Report, the Treasurer's Report and the Annual Accounts.

Membership subs and meeting fees

The committee proposed to keep annual membership subs at £5.

The committee proposed raising the meeting fees from £1 per member and £2 per non-member to £2 per member and £3 per non-member. The reason for this was that the cost of hall hire had gone up to £40 per meeting and the average cost of a speaker was now £50 – making a total of £90 expenditure per meeting. As the average fees collected at each meeting during 2022/23, plus raffle proceeds, amounted to approx £72, it was felt it was time to increase the fees, which had remained the same since 2008.

Several members commented that the meetings were good value for money.

Members at the meeting agreed unanimously with the proposals and so SHG annual membership sub remains at £5 and meeting entrance fees will be £2 per member and £3 per non-member as from June 14th 2023.

Election of officers and committee for 2023/24

Committee 2022/23:

Chairman – Jim Dickson

Vice-Chair and Facebook Manager – Shirley Dicker

Secretary and Website Manager - Vicki Walker

Treasurer - Andrew Walker

Events Manager – Kate Quarry

Committee members: David Bowker-Praed, Linda Collazo, Janet Hudson.

The Committee consists of a maximum number of 9 members, including officers, who must be re-elected annually. There was one committee member vacancy.

All existing members of the committee were willing to stand again. There was one nomination for a new committee member – Alex Walmsley.

The existing committee plus Alex Walmsley were elected en bloc.

Officers (Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer)

All officers were willing to stand again and elected en bloc.

Any other business

Tony Burton and Roy Edwards thanked the officers and committee for their hard work in running the group over the past 15 years.